This site is intended for Healthcare Professionals only

NPA elects Nick Kaye as new chair

Pharmacy News

NPA elects Nick Kaye as new chair

Nick Kaye is the new chair of the National Pharmacy Association. He takes over from Andrew Lane, who stood down last month after serving his maximum term.

Mr Kaye, who part owns Hendra Pharmacy in Cornwall, will serve for two years as chair, after being elected unopposed at the first meeting of the new NPA board today (April 24).

He was elected to the board in 2014 and is a member of Cornwall and Isle of Scilly LPC and is the chair of the Peninsula LPF.

Jay Badenhorst, managing director of Whitworth Chemists in the North East, is the new vice-chair. Michael Guerin continues as treasurer.

Nick Kaye said: “As a third generation community pharmacist, I feel very privileged to serve the sector that I love so dearly in this way. Andrew will be a hard act to follow. But I can promise my unwavering commitment to independent community pharmacy.

He continued: “Pharmacies are under an unprecedented degree of pressure right now. I want to begin to restore hope of better times ahead.”

The newly elected NPA nominees to PSNC are Ian Cubbin and Olivier Picard.

Andrew Lane will remain on the board for a further two years as a co-opted member. Attending their first formal meetings as board members this week are Sukhi Basra, Sri Kanaparthy, Salim Jetha and Sanjay Ganvir.

Story corrected on April 25 to say that Jay Badenhorst is managing director of Whitworth Chemists, not owner as previously stated.

Copy Link copy link button

Pharmacy News

Stay up to date with all the news, learning and insight in the world of pharmacy.